[Fan Gallery] Fan Gallery Contents: Mike & Diana Glyer

[Mike & Diana Glyer] Mike & Diana Glyer [Print] [high-res photo]

Los Angeles CA area

Mike: Conventioneer, Faneditor/fanwriter, Clubfan.
Diana: Convention Fan, Fan of Mythopoeic Literature, C. S. Lewis Scholar, Writer, Artist.

FGoH (Mike): DeepSouthCon 18 (1980); WindyCon 8 (1981) and WindyCon 16 (1989); Norwescon; Baycon; ArmadilloCon 11 (1989); Disclave; Lunacon; Loscon 19 (1992); Westercon 54 (2001); Torcon III (2003 Worldcon); Archon 28 (2004).
Special Guest (Mike): ConQuesT 26 (1995), Boskone 42 (2005).

Hugo: Best Fan Writer (1984, 1985, 1988); Best Fanzine (1984, 1986, 1989). (Mike)
Clyde S. Kilby Award, for research on Lewis and Tolkien. (Diana)

Chair (Mike): L.A.Con III (Worldcon 54, 1996).
Co-Chair (Mike): Loscon 3 (1977), Westercone (Westercon 31, 1978).
Chair (Diana): Mythcon XVI, C. S. Lewis Centenary Conference (at Wheaton College).

Con Committees (Mike): Westercons (1976, 1980, 1982, 1984); Worldcons (1980, 1982, 1983, 1988, 1989, 1990); various Loscons & Mythcons.
Con Committees (Diana): various positions at various other cons including Windycons, Mythcons, and Worldcons.
Mike invented Program Ops as a separate department at Worldcon. (Nolacon 2.)

Mike: member of LASFS, has served as President, Vice President, Director, Comptroller, but mostly Scribe; SCIFI (former Director, former Vice Chair).
Both: members of Mythopoeic Society. Mike has served as Recording Secretary.

Mike: Rotsler Award judge, 1998-2004.


Mike was part of "Duck Savage" costume group, 1974 Westercon ("Best Humorous" award).
Diana teaches college courses on C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, Charles Williams and other Myth-makers.

First contact with fandom: 1973 (Diana).

Photo by Chaz Boston Baden, Aug. 2002
Data: Sep. 2004

Rev. 13-Aug-2007

See also: Glyer, Mike
See also: Glyer, Diana